Juniors step into the game

Share on:

On May 19 and 20, final rounds of qualifications to this year's Eko-Dir FIM Speedway U21 World Championship start. There are 12 spots waiting for riders and they will fight for them in Pardubice, Eskilstuna and Terenzano.

This year's series will be 41st edition of this contest. So far, only 2 riders have reached this trophy twice. In 2007 and 2008 it was Russian Emil Sayfutdinov winning gold, who in both finals won 9 out of 10 heats. Second rider, who achieved this was Darcy Ward. Australian won last one-day final, which took place in Gorican (2009) and one year later, after an additional heat, he won the tournament compared of three rounds. This line up can be joined by Max Fricke. Last year's winner of FIM Speedway U21 World Championship have been presentinf an incredible disposition since the beginning of the season, which makes his name spelled most commonly among the favourites to gold. Before the fight begins, however, there are 12 spots in the final waiting to be filled. First 4 will be known on Friday.

Line up for Pardubice (19.05.2017, 6:15 PM): 

1. Kenny Wennerstam
2. Dmytro Mostowik
3. Josef Novak
4. Lukas Fienhage
5. Brady Kurtz
6. Nick Skorja
7. Maksym Drabik
8. Jonas Jeppesen
9. Patrik Mikel
10. Dominik Moeser
11. Cristian Zubillaga
12. Jan Mihalik
13. Dominik Kubera
14. Patrick Hansen
15. Jake Turner
16. Zdenek Holub
R1. Filip Hajek
R2. Pavel Cermak

Another 8 riders will be known on Saturday, when eliminations will be held in Eskilstuna and Terenzano.

Line up for Eskilstuna (20.05.2017, 4 PM):

1.Robert Lambert
2. Alexander Woentin
3. Frederik Jakobsen
4. Adam Ellis
5. Dimitri Berge
6. Gleb Czugunow
7. Espen Sundvor
8. Bartosz Smektała
9. Joel Kling
10. Tim Soerensen
11. Jooa Partanen
12. Jewgienij Kostygow
13. Glenn Moi
14. Artiom Trofimow
15. Joel Andersson
16. Nike Lunna
R1. Johan Jensen
R2. William Bjoerling

Terenzano (20.05.2017, godzina: 20:15):

1. Jack Holder
2. Broc Nicol
3. Gaetan Stella
4. Mattia Lenarduzzi
5. Andreas Lyager
6. Daniel Kaczmarek
7. Mike Jacopetti
8. Michael Haertel
9. Lasse Frederiksen
10. Filip Hjelmland
11. Eduard Krcmar
12. Max Fricke
13. Jordan Dubernard
14. Sandro Wassermann
15. Kacper Woryna
16. Josh Bates
R1. Michele Menani

Next three spots are the "wild cards", which will be announced on Monday, 22.05.2017 during the press conference in Poznań.

U21 News
Berge: "Engine failures made me be unable to fight"

It was definitely not a good meeting for French rider. Dimitri Berge was 12th in the first round of EKO-DIR FIM Speedway U21 World Championship 2017, which took place in Poznań. Rider from Marmande got the engine's failure twice, while standing under a tape.

Fall crossed a chance to win

Robert Lambert is one of the unluckiest riders of the first round of EKO-DIR FIM Speedway U21 World Championship, which took place in Poznań. British rider started this round from three wins, however his fall in heat no.5 got him injured, which made him be unable to race effectively in latter heats.

M. Drabik: "I'm leaving Poznań behind"

Maksym Drabik won the first round of EKO-DIR FIM Speedway U21 World Championship 2017 in Poznań after gathering maximum points. Despite a 6-point advantage over Bartosz Smektała and Max Fricke, "Torres" is keeping calm. - Six points is not a big advantage, can be lost in two heats - Drabik says.

Maksym Drabik's complete win in Poznań!

 Maksym Drabik won EKO-DIR FIM Speedway World Championship round in Poznań with full 21 points. Podium was completed by Bartosz Smektała and Jevgeniy Kostygov.

Live stream is on

 Globally broadcast of Eko-Dir FIM Speedway U21 World Championship 2017 in Poznań is available throug YouTube streaming. 

The only Latvian in the series

 Jevgenijs Kostigovs is the only Latvian in this year's line up of EKO-DIR FIM Speedway U21 World Championship. Rider of Lokomotiv Daugavpils got promoted to the main tournament after the semi-final in Eskilstuna, where he was 2nd with 13 points gathered.

U21 First Round - Poznań
Press Conference - Poznań
Lets Make Speedway Gala
social media


FIM One Sport

Host Cities

Poznan Gustrow Pardubice

Official Broadcaster



Eko-Dir Poczta Polska BOLL


Media partners